Atikameksheng Anishnawbek General Report


Comprehensive Community Plan


Gchi Naaknigewin

Our Law

Community Profile


Membership Callout

We welcome you to our community. Join us.

Atikameksheng Anishnawbek are descendants of the Ojibway, Algonquin and Odawa Nations. In 1850, Chief Shawenekezhik, on behalf of the Atikameksheng Anishnawbek signed the Robinson-Huron Treaty granting the British Crown and their people (Royal Subjects) a right to occupy and share the lands of the Anishnawbek.

The Community is located approximately 19 km west of the Greater City of Sudbury. The current land base is 43,747 acres, much of it being deciduous and coniferous forests, surrounded by eight lakes, with eighteen lakes within its boundaries.

As of April 2019, the total population is 1303 members (433 on-reservation members/870 off-reservation members).

The community has grown significantly throughout the years. Currently, there are 138 houses located in the community, 30 cottages owned by residents on various lakes throughout the First Nation. Along the northern shores of Lake Penage, 43.5 acres of land was surrendered for cottage leasing purposes. Currently, there are 97 lots that have road access to the cottages. Not only is it road accessible but electricity and telephone services are available for the cottagers.

Band Government falls under section 74 of the Indian Act. Elections are held every two years. In 2004, Chief and Council passed an ‘Order in Council’ to limit the number of Councillors elected into Office to seven (7). Band meetings are held bi-weekly. Each council member holds a portfolio based upon the organizational structure of the First Nation. The First Nation Government belongs to a variety of political organizations such as the Assembly of First Nations, Chiefs of Ontario, Anishinabek Nation and North Shore Tribal Council.

Our Newsletter

Receive our monthly newsletter and stay up to date with community news and events.